Posted date: 4/April/2010

This is a peculiar situation. The Karnataka state film awards for 2007-2008 announced in the first week of January 2009 is now presented in the fourth month of 2010 in the home town of Karnataka chief minister Dr BS Yediyurappa.

The stage is set now and the clippings ready for screening at the time of awards presentation for various categories is in the hands of information director Vishukumar.

The film award at the state level is for the first time for Puneeth Rajakumar, dubbing artists Sudarshan, Champa Shetty, Baby Prakruthi, Master Likith, supporting actor Rajesh, actress Smitha, Agni Sridhar for dialogues in Aa Dinagalu, playback singer Vaani, sound recorder N Kumar, Tulu film maker and director Srinivas Kaushik, lyricist Gollahalli Shivaprasad.

The two state award winning dubbings artists Sudarshan and Champa Shetty have lent the voices for the various categories awards. For Champa Shetty award Sudarshan has given the voice and for Sudarshan award Champa Shetty has lent her voice. This is a unique thing indeed.

The Karnataka government headed by Dr BS Yediyurappa has given everything demanded by the Kannada cinema industry so far and this is the first film awards presentation for the chief minister that is taking place at Nehru Kridangana at 6 pm in Shimoga.

A massive stage has been erected now and 30000 people are expected to witness the awards presentation. This is the second time the state film awards are presented in Shimoga. The last time a decade ago presented irked the media persons from Bangalore that had to go on a strike for lack of arrangements.

The awards evening is memorable because mother and son – Smt Parvathamma Rajakumar for Life Time Achievement and power star Puneeth Rajakumar for best actor for ‘Milana’ are receiving the awards. Veteran Renuka Sharma receives the Puttanna Kanagal award.

In the demise of Dr Vishnuvardhana who was declared Dr Rajakumar award his wife Smt Bharathi Vishnuvardhana is receiving the award. It will be complete for best actress award winner Smt Umasri as she has received the national and international awards already and this state award is prestigious for her.

On the same evening the national award winners – Gubbachigalu, Vimukthi, Gaggara will also be specially honored it is learnt. Gubbachigalu was awarded the best children award at the national level and in the state level the child actress Baby Prakruthi has been declared an award. The best children film declared in the state level goes to ‘Ekalavya’ of Prof Baraguru Ramachandrappa for 2007-2008.

Besides the Karnataka Chief Minister, information minister Khatta Subramanya Naidu, KS Ishwarappa, Halappa, Shanker Murthy, Dr Jayamala are the chief guests.

We give you the list of state film awards winners for 2007-2008

Dr.Vishnuvardhana Dr.Rajakumar award

Smt.Parvathamma Rajakumar – Lifetime achievement award

Puttanna Kanagal Award - Renuka Sharma

The first best film ‘Gulabi Talkies’ – Director Girish Kasaravalli, Producer – Basanthkuma Patil

The second film ‘Moggina Jade’ Director – P Ramdas Naidu – Producer – Messrs Naidu Studio

The third best film ‘Mathad Mathadu Mallige’ – Director – Nagathihalli Chandrasekhar, Producer – K Manju

Best Children film award – Ekalavya – Director Prof Baraguru Ramachandrappa.

The other awards of 2007-2008 Karnataka State Films awards are:

  • Best Actor – Puneeth Rajakumar – Milana
  • Best Actress – Umasri – Gulabi Talkies
  • Best Supp. Actor – Rajesh – Moggina Jade
  • Best Supp. Actress – Smitha – Avva
  • Best Dubbing – Sudarshan – Aa Dinagalu
  • Best Dubbing – female – Champa Shetty – Kurunadu
  • Best story – Late P Lankesh – Avva
  • Best Screenplay – Girish Kasaravalli - Gulabi Talkies
  • Best Dialogues – Agni Sridhar – Aa Dinagalu
  • Best Cameraman – H.C.Venu - Aa Dinagalu
  • Best Music – Sadhu Kokila – Inthi Ninna Preethiya
  • Best Singer – Male – Dr.SPB – Ninadhe Ninadhe Nenapu – Savi Savi Nenapu
  • Best Singer Female – Vaani – Madhubana Karedhare…. Inthi Ninna Preethiya
  • Best Sound Recording – N Kumar, Accident film
  • Best Editing – Suresh Urs – Savi Savi Nenapu
  • Best Child Actor – Master Likith – Naanu Gandhi
  • Best Child Actor – female – Baby Prakruthi – Gubbachchigalu
  • Best Art Direction – G Murthy – Kurunadu
  • Best Lyricist – Gollahalli Shivaprasad – Jhana Jhana Kanchanadalli…. Mathad Mathadu Mallige
  • Best Regional Cinema – Birse (Thulu)

Kannada Cinema's Latest Wallpapers
Kannada Cinema's Latest Videos
Error, Select (_footer_contact_) query failed